University of Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray wins Associated Press college football Player of the Year

Kyler Murray is The Related Press school soccer Participant of the 12 months, the second straight Oklahoma quarterback and fifth total to win the award because it was established in 1998.

Murray beat out Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa in voting by 56 AP school soccer ballot voters who submitted participant of the yr ballots. Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins Jr. was third within the award introduced Thursday.

Murray obtained 39 first-place votes and a complete of 145 factors. Tagovailoa (117 factors) obtained 13 first-place votes and Haskins (55 factors) was listed first on 4 ballots.

All three are finalists for the Heisman Trophy , which can be introduced Saturday evening in New York.

Murray joins Baker Mayfield (2017), Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008) as earlier winners from Oklahoma. No different faculty has had greater than two gamers win AP Participant of the 12 months.

Murray, a 5-foot-10, 195-pound junior from Allen, Texas, gained the award in his last yr as a university athlete. The Oakland Athletics took Murray with the ninth decide within the Main League Baseball draft in June. Murray, who batted .296 with 10 house runs and 13 doubles in 50 video games because the Sooners’ middle fielder, signed for practically $5 million, with the A’s agreeing to let him return to highschool and play soccer this season.

Murray was Mayfield’s backup final season and gained the starter’s job in preseason apply. He went on to change into certainly one of three four,000-yard passers within the nation and threw for 40 touchdowns. He additionally has rushed for 892 yards and 11 TDs.

Murray leads the nation in complete offense (four,945 yards), factors accountable for…

Source link

Hits: 0