Tua Tagovailoa and Kyler Murray split honors at College Football Awards

Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa and Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray cut up 4 school soccer year-end awards Thursday, organising a showdown for Saturday evening once they contend for the Heisman Trophy.

Tagovailoa acquired the Maxwell Award for participant of the yr whereas Murray was named the nation’s high quarterback with the Davey O’Brien Award on the School Soccer Awards present in Atlanta.

Earlier within the day, the Walter Camp Award for greatest participant went to Tagovailoa, whereas Murray received the Related Press’ Participant of the Yr. They’re each finalists for the Heisman, together with Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins.

Will school soccer’s most well-known trophy go to Tagovailoa? The previous 4 Maxwell winners and previous 5 Walter Camp winners have all gone on to win the Heisman.

Or will the Heisman go to Murray? That is the sixth time previously 15 seasons that totally different quarterbacks took residence the Maxwell and Davey O’Brien awards, and in 4 of the earlier 5 occasions the Heisman went to the O’Brien winner. And solely 5 Heisman winners have didn’t win AP Participant of the Yr because the award began in 1998.

Tagovailoa, a sophomore, has thrown 37 landing passes to simply 4 interceptions whereas main the undefeated Crimson Tide to the highest spot within the School Soccer Playoff rankings. He’s the third Alabama participant to win the Maxwell after AJ McCarron in 2013 and Derrick Henry in 2015.

Murray, a junior who plans to give attention to baseball sooner or later, had a 96.zero quarterback score, the very best within the FBS in at the very least the previous 15 years, and was chargeable for 51 touchdowns, tied with Haskins for essentially the most in FBS. He’s on tempo to turn into the primary FBS beginning quarterback to…

Source link

Hits: 0